Summer Poll

I can’t believe that the new school year is upon us! I have a prep-day tomorrow, and students begin on Monday. Recently I’ve been thinking about what I should do with my middle school students during the first week. I decided to poll them about their summers.

I created a Google Form for my middle school students to share their summers. In the poll, there’s an emphasis on the time dedicated to acquiring information. I’m interested in knowing how much time my students spent acquiring information in various modalities. I have a hunch that a higher number of hours were dedicated to listening to and watching media. But, I want to confirm that, and if that’s true, I want to know how skewed the results are. Then, I want to consider whether I should teach to my students’ interests. Or, should I provide them with a balance? I’m hoping my students will provide me with the insight to make an informed decision.

I also want to use the form to start a discussion regarding my students’ summers. I will have a pre-made list of questions that my students can ask one another. Here are sample questions:

  • Where did you travel? What did you do there?
  • What did you read? What was it about?
  • What did you write about? Where did you write it?
  • What did you listen to? How did you find it?
  • What did you watch? What was it about?

I welcome others to use this Google Form with their students. Feel free to use it directly from my blog, or a copy can be saved and utilized.

Leave a Reply

