Rory’s Story Cubes

Last week, I received a review copy of Rory’s Story Cubes from Gamewright. Rory’s Story Cubes is a game containing 9 cubes with images on each of the 6 sides. The cubes have transparent images such as tree, flower, and hand; and less transparent images that are open to interpretation. The game also has 3 suggested ways to use the cubes. Since receiving the review copy, I implemented 3 different activities with my middle school students (with language deficits) that I’d like to share:

  • Naming – my students rolled 5 cubes, then named the images quickly, while being timed with an iPhone stopwatch.
  • Sentence construction – my students rolled 3 cubes, then constructed a sentence with words that described the images.
  • Word association – one of my students rolled 1 cube, then generated a word associated with the image (e.g., tree – leaves). Each subsequent student in the group generated a word associated with the previous student’s word.

My students enjoyed the activities with Rory’s Story Cubes. If you want to purchase the cubes, find them here for $7.99 via Gamewright. Rory’s Story Cubes is also an iPhone app priced at $2.99, which you can view here.

One thought on “Rory’s Story Cubes

  1. Thank you for sharing Rory’s Story Cubes. I will definintely be sharing them with our community on our website. I write blogs on communication awareness and wellness at http://www.MySpeechTherapyCenter.com. Feel free to visit our website. By the way, it’s fascinating how you have developed the two apple applications! I will also be sharing them with our community!

Leave a Reply

