Summer

Yesterday was my last day of the regular school year in my district. I had to say goodbye to my middle school SLP position and AT position. My district is eliminating the AT position, and I was interested in an elementary school SLP position. Next school year, I’m looking forward to doing more direct therapy with a wider variety at disabilities at the elementary school.

This summer, I will be working the extended school year (ESY) for my district. I have worked ESY ever since I started as an SLP 5 years ago. It’s great because I have a lot of fun working 8 to noon doing therapy only – no assessments and no meetings. After a little time off next week, I look forward to starting ESY.

3 thoughts on “Summer

  1. It’s difficult to see so many cuts in education. The State of Illinois is also cutting EI and Education services, only making things more difficult for children with needs.

Leave a Reply

